Astrology Houses and

What They Rule

Twelve is a big number in astrology — 12 astrological signs are influenced by 12 planetary bodies, and an astrological birth chart includes 12 houses. Each of these 12 houses affects specific areas of your life, and their position on your birth chart and their relationships to other areas of your chart can have an impact on your horoscope. The following table lists each house’s areas of influence:

House Area of Influence
First House
Appearance, outward personality
Second House Money, possessions, values
Third House Communication, immediate environment, brothers and sisters
Fourth House Home, parents, roots, circumstances at the end of life
Fifth House Romance, children, creativity, fun
Sixth House Work, health, service
Seventh House Marriage and other partnerships
Eighth House Sex, death, regeneration, other people’s money
Ninth House Higher education, travel, religion, philosophy, publishing, law
Tenth House Career, status, reputation
Eleventh House Friends, groups, goals, aspirations
Twelfth House Seclusion, secrets, spirituality, self-sabotage, institutions